11202017Headline:

El Dorado, Arkansas

HomeArkansasEl Dorado

Email Chrissie Cole Chrissie Cole on LinkedIn Chrissie Cole on Facebook
Chrissie Cole
Chrissie Cole
Contributor •

Primary Seat-Belt Law Approved In Arkansas

Comments Off

The Arkansas House voted 60-31 on Wednesday in favor of a bill that would make seat-belt violations a primary offense.

Arkansas, like Missouri, now has a secondary seat-belt law, which means officers are able to issue citations for the violation only after stopping the vehicle for another reason. There are 26 states that currently have primary seat-belt laws, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Under the bill, by Sen. Hank Wilkins IV, (D-Pine Bluff) violators will be subject to a $25 fine. But it won’t be reflected on their driving record. Wilkins says the change will save lives and make Arkansas eligible for $9.5 million in federal funding.

A spokesman has said the governor will sign the bill.